The Five Essential Building Blocks of a Networked Improvement Community

Networked improvement communities (NICs) are gaining importance as a structure for identifying and solving complex educational problems. Tackling these problems requires taking specific steps to make sure the NIC is built to last.

In the Carnegie Commons blog, Sarah McKay summarizes an article, “A Framework for the Initiation of Networked Improvement Communities” published in the journal Teachers College Record that describes a framework containing five essential domains of initiating a NIC, areas of activity that productive NICs have in common.

These five domains are:

  • Understanding the Problem
  • Learning the Method
  • Building the Infrastructure
  • Sustaining the Work
  • Crafting the Narrative

For more summary information, see:

To access the report, see: